• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

hydroponic My pepper hydroponic grow experiment

Hi, i'm kinda new here.
late July i ate some of those mini sweet peppers and loved them. they are very small, about the size of a jalapeno, and expensive. about 7-8 dollars for a 1.5lbs bag.

decided to take a chance and saved some of the seeds to grow them.

anyhow, this is more of an experiment for me as it's my first time growing peppers in hydroponic. i have grown a lot of of other leafy greens in hydroponic so i'm using that knowledge i've learned over the years and applying it to peppers.

i took some of the seeds and they sprouted beginning of August. read bottom of post for things i've learned and more info..

i will try to post weekly updates on the progress. if anyone has any questions feel free to ask.
First week after sprouting

2l72Mma.jpg

Second Week

US0IH6F.jpg

Forth Week (forgot to take pics on week 3) they already out growing the 4 gal container. moving them for a 8 gallon next week.

UzxiF9Z.jpg

Couple things about these pepper plants.

They are a hybrid so there is no telling what i'll get, but so far things i've notice:

i planted 3 mini peppers colors: red, yellow and orange. two of the plants that are taller are both the yellow pepper plants, and the other two are the orange pepper seeds and those plants are more compact and are splitting off at the tip into different nodes, while the yellow pepper plants (which are taller) have not.. so all three types of seeds i've planted are growing distinctively to the pepper color. this seems promising so far. the moment of truth will be soon as they are already starting to send out bud flowers.