My pepper isn't doing anything!

Ok, so I'm a serious novice grower.

I decided late spring I wanted to start growing peppers for fun and to eat, of course.

So my wife picked me up two 8-10inch plants from a nursery, and they were both doing great, then one just decided to get weird.

I don't really know the type, I threw away the tag that came with it. It is a mild, fat long pepper, as you can see in the photos below.
IMG_7382_zpsbbc33737.jpg

My problems with this pepper are that once it got two peppers growing, all of the rest of the flowers and very immature peppers (1-2 days after the flowers fell off) fell off as well!

So I have just 2 fat peppers growing on this plant.

I noticed early on that there were these white crystalline type things on a bunch of the leaves and from looking around like a standard amateur it seemed I was watering it too much.
IMG_7390_zps54239d5c.jpg

IMG_7389_zps2a673222.jpg

So I really went long between watering, paying attention to how the leaves were acting to know if it needed water or not. This didn't seem to help, so I pruned some excess leaves (not too many) and a few of the budding areas to help focus the power into the remaining budding areas.

But the remaining buds just fell off a few weeks later with no peppers on them

The fat peppers look to be full size, but they are now not looking so great.
IMG_7386_zps8cdfe799.jpg

IMG_7388_zpsc373e1d8.jpg

They have that weird yellow green sick color, some wilting towards the top and feel spongy vs solid and strong like my other plant.

Also, at the bottom of the pepper is what looks like a stretch mark or something...
IMG_7387_zps76c50156.jpg

I see this on a couple of my other pepper plant pods, and those are super healthy so I'm not too worried, but can anyone tell me maybe what it is caused by?

So... lots of questions, but I hope I have put it into a new presentation that makes you want to help me :D