• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

lighting New lights...did I get it right?

Ok, so I have been tossing around all the possible lighting schemes that are available and my God there are a lot!! I did not think I could pull off the HID lighting system because the wife is gonna come unglued when I pull all that out of the box. The LED systems that were available were so overpriced for what you get considering if I spent the time I could build those myself. But what shift worker has the time to take care of honey-do's and still rig up lights that way. I settled on a 2 ft. 4 bulb T5 setup off of amazon. Was thinking I could change two of the bulbs from 6500k to 2700k alternating and that should be good for 12 Carolina reaper plants I have in double solo cups. I am unashamed to say I am a total newb at indoor growing so any advice is welcome...and feel free to tell me I'm a dumbass if that's warranted too I gots thick skin... :hell:  :onfire:  :dance:

juanitos said:
2' x 3' coverage. so yeah should be fine. (can probably add a few more cups  :drunk: )
you don't need to do any bulb switching either cool white(6500) or daylight(5000) is fine. 2700 is inferior.
Thanks for the reply...I was under the impression that you had to change the spectrum for flowering for some reason...can't remember where I read that now but also change the light cycle to 10-12 hrs from 18 for veg...which is not a concern for quite a while with reapers granted. :?:  
Also is there a benefit to 24 hr lighting vrs 18 hour? Just wondering :think:

the lighting stuff is mostly from weed growers. Peppers continuously grow / flower when they are ready on their own they don't need light to tell them what to do(lol). it is shown that temperature has more of an effect.