New to forums - Growth question

So I've done quite a bit of reading on this site and others. Found a TON of conflicting info on my problem and figured since im new it would probably be best just to post some pictures.

Not only am I new to peppers but I'm new to starting them indoors under a grow light that I literally just purchased. (4x HO 6500k T5 lights http://www.amazon.com/4lamps-DL844s-Fluorescent-Hydroponic-Fixture/dp/B00HEYCRI8?ie=UTF8&psc=1&redirect=true&ref_=oh_aui_detailpage_o00_s01)

Purpose is purely just to get them started and in good shape for transplant outside. 

My issue is light distance. The lights do run a bit warm but I have a small fan on them. I've read so many different conflicting opinions and its driving me nuts. Anywhere from "as long as the lights aren't touching the plants" to "my lights are ~12 inches off and my plants do fine!"

Anyways I've settled at 4-6 inches but the leaves seem to be folding (no so much a curl). I've read that them doing this at night is normal... but now they seem to be doing it hours into the day as well. I've read this can be caused by too little water, too much, too much heat, too much light, not enough light....  

Just looking for some opinions on how these look and a little more expert advice.

* added info that might help. Currently Have lights on 16 hours a day on a timer and am watering every other day

Photo%20Apr%2020%208%2055%2049%20AM_zps7tcs90l9.jpg

Photo%20Apr%2020%208%2055%2039%20AM_zpsbhvg34cu.jpg

Photo%20Apr%2020%208%2055%2011%20AM_zpsneg5zfzx.jpg

I have that same light set-up and they average around 95 degrees on the ballast surface, and around 90 degrees below.  

T5 HO runs a bit hotter than T8s & T12s.    I would suggest the 6 inch mark as a good place.  I'm going to say that this might be the plants response to drying conditions and heat.   

The heat from this light + the wind is the equivalent of having a 90 degree breezy, dry day. - Minus the benefit of actual full sun.