• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

overwintering new to growing super hots, indoor wintering advice

Really im new to growing much of anything, but this year I started growing some Carolina Reapers, not real sure why, but figured give it a go.

Ive got 4 plants that havent done much because I started them fairly late(June-ish).  Ive currently got them in 12 quart pots with Miracle Grow potting soil and about a 1" rock base for water drainage.  Seem to be doing well in these pots and I would like to simply leave them in the pots for winter and transplant in the spring.

I am down in Dallas, TX so I believe I have another 2-3 weeks before I need to bring them inside so time to gather some supplies for over-wintering(which is a term new to me).

Im not trying to break the bank here, im also not trying to do much except keep them alive through the winter.

I work out of town 3-4 days at a time.  Right now I have an auto drip watering setup on them outside that is taking care of them nicely.  I understand they dont need to be watered all that often and now that temps have dropped here in Dallas(mid 80 during day, mid 50's at night) I have cut back to watering them once a day for 5 minutes(which I understand may be to often as is).

So I need a light system and MAYBE an indoor auto watering setup.

I am contemplating this T5HO fixture
https://www.1000bulbs.com/product/88849/SUN-960296.html

Or they have a 4 light for like 20 bucks more.

I can build a stand no problem.

Again, not looking to do anything, but keep them alive through the winter.  Getting peppers off of them is not a concern.

As far as watering goes, im thinking after doing a ton of reading, that I can get away with NOT watering them for 3-4 days at a time.  Is that the general consensus with these type of peppers?  Especially indoors in a moderate(mid 60's) temperature environment?