New to Hot Peppers

hello all,

I'm new to growing hot peppers, I built myself a 3ft x 8ft x 2ft deep planter, I put a greenhouse on top to help with the high temps and keep the heat in during the nights.

I filled it with just plain top soil, I had some success with Jalapenos. I had a Carolina Reaper, 2 Bhut Jalokia's, Naga Morich X Reaper and 2 Jalapeno's. no luck with the super hots, just the Jalapenos.

I'm curious to what I can put into the soil this year to help bump up my crop this year. Adding Habs and Cayennes this year.

Could I mix in the ashes from my firepit?

looking forward to the input,

Thanks I advance!

Lots of worm castings and perlite (or crushed pumice). That'll be a good start. From there, maybe some compost.

Yes, you can use ash and small left-over coals; they hold nutrients really well, but it will not be a huge overall difference.

Oh, and welcome!

i'm washing/collecting eggshells under my sink to crush and turn into my raised beds.
i know its not an immediate boost but i'm hoping it'll be a boon in the long run.

mrgrowguy said:
Lots of worm castings and perlite (or crushed pumice). That'll be a good start. From there, maybe some compost.

Yes, you can use ash and small left-over coals; they hold nutrients really well, but it will not be a huge overall difference.

Oh, and welcome!

Masher

Posted Today, 12:58 PM

Make sure that ash is from good clean wood source  ;)

Welcome to THP  :welcome:

thanks guys! appreciate the welcomes

My wood Source is clean, I work at a sawmill and get 1ft trimmings for firewood, everything is Kiln dried no chemicals.

for the worm castings and perlite... how many bags would one recommend?

I'm looking forward to making more Habanero shakers!  and my wife is starting to enjoy hot peppers too!

Reaper 1 said:

for the worm castings and perlite... how many bags would one recommend?