• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

health New to starting seedlings…Got a some questions, pictures included

So I am new to growing and I have a couple questions that I have come across with my experiences. This post might seem scatterbrained but it is what it is.
My first and most burning questions is regarding a handful of jalapeño and stripey seedlings I started a couple weeks ago. I started them late for my area simply because I got the seeds late. All of my other peppers are already planted in the garden and I was wondering if since the weather is nice enough in my area for it, should I just start hardening off the 2.5 week old seedlings now so that I can complete their seedling growth (the next 4 to 6 weeks) outside? The reason I ask is just so that they will have better lighting (the sun instead of a 10,000 lumen LED 4 in away) and the soil will dry out better (really damage my seedlings from earlier this spring by overwatering and don't know if most of them will recover).
I was also wondering do peppers started indoors typically develop a purple stem as opposed to those started in nurseries?

Another situation:
I started most of my pepper seedlings in 1 to 3 inch pots and sittings in 10x20 trays sitting under 2 side-by-side perpendicular 10,000 lumen LED shop lights. However, I had two pepper that were started one week earlier than the others that were both started in 1 gallon pots and were on the outskirts of the lighting. All of the seedlings started out healthy but the leaves of the peppers in the gallon pots were larger and healthier looking and grew a lot bigger (more that just one week older growth) Eventually they all got sickly I think because overwatering but I am curious, do you think that the peppers in the gallon pots outgrew the others so well because they were started in bigger pots (more space, and less watering) or because the other peppers were getting too much light?