• If you have a question about commercial production or the hot sauce business, please post in The Food Biz.

fermenting Newb to Fermenting-Jalapenos

I've never fermented peppers to make a hot sauce and I was looking for some help. Does anyone know a good recipe for a jalapeño hotsauce? Do I need yeast or anything?

Fireeater86 said:
I am a newb myself. I have had 1 succesful ferment and another one in progess. What is confusing about it? maybe I can help you out.

I'm not sure if I should use a live culture or salt let alone where to find live culture...

[SIZE=medium]In most cases you shouldn’t have to use a live culture or a starter culture. Everything you need should be naturally on your peppers. If the peppers are store bought they may be irradiated and so you would want to use a starter culture. Help me out guys?  I myself used kefir that I picked up from a home brew shop. You definitely want to use salt. This is what keeps the nasties at bay while the lactobacillus gets going.  How much salt that is debatable. I chose to be safe and use the USDA recommendation for making sauerkraut. Off the top of my head I think it is 3 table spoons of canning salt per 5 lbs of vegetables but I would have to double check. [/SIZE]

Fireeater86 said:
In most cases you shouldn’t have to use a live culture or a starter culture. Everything you need should be naturally on your peppers. If the peppers are store bought they may be irradiated and so you would want to use a starter culture. Help me out guys?  I myself used kefir that I picked up from a home brew shop. You definitely want to use salt. This is what keeps the nasties at bay while the lactobacillus gets going.  How much salt that is debatable. I chose to be safe and use the USDA recommendation for making sauerkraut. Off the top of my head I think it is 3 table spoons of canning salt per 5 lbs of vegetables but I would have to double check.