artwork Newbie here trying to start own hot sauce business

Hello everyone! 

I am new to this site and the world of hot sauce businesses. 

I am currently trying to start my own hot sauce business in Los Angeles and wanted to see if members of this website can help me out.

I have done some research and still kind of lost. What are the steps required to start a hot sauce business? I honestly want to start small and sell locally at fairs and markets but it seems I can't just make my sauces at home, bottle it and sell it. From what I know, I either need to rent a commercial kitchen or hire a co-packer. What licenses are required of me whether i rent a commercial kitchen or hire a co packer? 

Hope people can leave their expert advice and suggestions. Thank you!

:welcome:

There are a lot of relevant topics in The Food Business forum.

Good luck on your venture.
salsalady

RP007 said:
Hello everyone! 

I am new to this site and the world of hot sauce businesses. 

I am currently trying to start my own hot sauce business in Los Angeles and wanted to see if members of this website can help me out.

I have done some research and still kind of lost. What are the steps required to start a hot sauce business? I honestly want to start small and sell locally at fairs and markets but it seems I can't just make my sauces at home, bottle it and sell it. From what I know, I either need to rent a commercial kitchen or hire a co-packer. What licenses are required of me whether i rent a commercial kitchen or hire a co packer? 

Hope people can leave their expert advice and suggestions. Thank you!