Newspaper for a Capillary mat

Has anyone ever tried this.  Here is the link where i first came across it. http://www.ag.auburn.edu/adm/comm/news/1991/recycled.htm  The reason i was wanting to try this is i am going out of town this upcoming weekend and won't be back until Monday.  I am using peat pellets (i know some people love them some hate them-but it's my first time from seed and decided to try it this way) which definitely seem to dry out quickly.  I have a tray of bhuts, 7 pods and african birds eye seedlings on a heat mat and under t8 lights that i don't want to die. One article i read mentioned that the newspaper is slightly acidic if that makes a difference.  I am trying to do this for free with stuff i have around the house since i have already spent too much on my new found hobby  :surprised:  . Any advice is appreciated.

if they are germinating aka no sprouts / leaves up. You can seal the tray with them in it with saran wrap that way nothing dries out at all.
seedstart10.jpg

To keep others wet i just fill up the tray i have halfway with water that will keep them from drying out too much for ~3 days. aka bottom watering, cups / containers need to have some holes in them. If pellets still that works as they will just absorb whatever.

They have all germinated and are approximately 2-3 inches in height. I had thought about doing what you said or putting them in pie pans and putting water in them, but i wasn't sure if they would stay too wet and cause problems.

only bottom inch will be really wet, rest will be watever is wicked up and soil can hold. No idea if the pellets will fall apart, (just go ahead and put in cups  :P

being wet for a long time can be breeding ground for disease / fungus. But they will only be really wet for 1or2 days at most, 3rd day they will just be damp / dry. Does it ever rain over 2 days where you live? same difference..

parker49 said: