• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

overwintering Overwintering, dormant plants question

Hey guys,

So I brought my plants in to try to overwinter them, but didn't do anything special and now they have a bit of a pest problem. I've been treating them with Neem + dish soap and warm water soak in their regular water that I feed them, but it doesn't seem to be helping much. These plants are still full size and have most of their leaves. It's been about 2 - 3 weeks since I began this treatment. Does it just take longer or should I wait for a warmish day and bring them outside and repot, hose down, do all the stuff? Also, some of my plants have lost all their leaves, do I just leave those alone until spring now or are they dead? This is my first try at this. Thanks in advance!

I'm not very scientific about OWing, but I usually prune the plants
back to the main stalk and let the new growth come out of the nodes.
I'm keeping mine under the lights to continue growing rather than go
dormant this year just for grins. Trimming off all the branches has the
added benefit of getting rid of the leaf-bound pests. Still have to be
vigilant for aphids, but it's easier to control them when there isn't much
foliage. I don't repot and all that. Just too lazy I guess. Good luck getting
your OWs through the winter

Ok, I'll keep all that in mind. I'm doing the same as you and keeping them under lights, but I may need to just trim them like you said. Thanks.

When i entered my peppers indoors i soon found out they had aphids (no surprise here). I began spraying them with insecticidal soap every few days, it kept the infestation under control but never eradicated them completely. I then decided to up my game and heavyly sprayed them everyday for a full week. It's been a month and i've never seen one of those fuckers again.