• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

powder-flake Pepper Powders - The Making and Keeping of

SmokenFire

Staff Member
Business Member
Hello Guys,

I've been growing peppers for the last 5 years or so. At first just jalapenos, Anaheims and Anchos and then gradually spreading out into more (and hotter) varieties. I have come to love the sprouting and growing and watching and subsequent transplanting and waiting for ripening - my friends and family have come to love the results too!

Last year was the first year that my yield outpaced our ability to eat so I began my first experiments with hot sauces and pepper powders. My dehydrator dries peppers nicely and I've been mixing up various blends since the middle of last summer. My questions are as follows:

1. I've read some here that do NOT use pepper seeds in with their powders. Why?

2. How do you store your dehydrated peppers before grinding them into powders?

3. Do you find problems with caking or clumping with your powders? If so what do you do to avoid this?

4. Some here smoke their peppers before grinding. How long is this done and how much is the change in character, appearance and taste/heat level after smoking?

Any/all ideas, opinions and suggestions welcome guys!

1. when you cut the peppers in half and dry them most of the seeds are going to fall out,then after handling them more are going to fall out. there really shouldnt be that many left to worry about.

2.in any kind of container

3.sometimes specially here in florida as the moisture is out of control,id rather over dry the peppers even altering there color if i think im going to be storing.but you can add them little moisture control things.

4.this question is hard to answer,i dont find a correct answer because of so many variables.

i would say dry your peppers grind them and put the powder in a old spice container and you will have all the answers you desire.

Hi Smoken!