• Do you need help identifying a 🌶?
    Is your plant suffering from an unknown issue? 🤧
    Then ask in Identification and Diagnosis.

PepperJam's Superhot Tasting Chronicles

Wife was cooking some curry, i told her i'd pick a pepper from my garden to add some heat to it rather than just add seranos. I picked my only ripe yellow 7pod. Since this is my first time handling super hot peppers i was super careful. Had my nitrile gloves on, my dedicated pepper cutting board and knife. I shopped it up into 1 inch squares or so. Took out the seeds to dry, and put the pepper segments into a glass jar.

In the curry, it was good, slight heat, i guess i put too little (4 small pieces). I thought 1 pod was enought for 7 pots of cooking :D Maybe thats a myth.

I decided its time to try a fresh super hot. I've been trying powders this past 6 months to get my body ready for the real fresh stuff :D

I put a 1 inch segment in my mouth, chewed it thoroughly, i wouldn't swallow and so my saliva made it into a 7pod mouthwash as i was trying to figure out the taste of it. It was slightly fruity, my mouth was burning, but it was not that bad. It lasted for 5-10 minutes and it was ok.

I was expecting a reaction like, ahhhh my mouth get me milk! :mouthonfire: but i was good. Let's see how other peppers do.

Here are some pics.

P1010843.jpg

P1010844.jpg

P1010846.jpg

P1010845.jpg

P1010847.jpg

That yellow 7 pod looks great.

Congrats for surviving it with such ease.

I remember when I ate my first super hot pod, I literally changed color to bright red.
The wife mocked me for weeks.

Bleash

Hhhmmm I would have to say the heat in your yellow 7's isn't what it should be. Happens. Try a whole one next time, see if it's the same.