• Do you need help identifying a 🌶?
    Is your plant suffering from an unknown issue? 🤧
    Then ask in Identification and Diagnosis.

Peppers popping out...now what?

well...the first peppers have popped (doing a happy dance!). I'm a newbie at this, so I have a bunch of questions like:

1. When do I pick?
2. Should I be putting more fertilizer down? (I use Worm Poop...yep...that's the name!)
3. Will picking the pepper pods give the plant more energy to put out more buds?

Any help would be appreciated, and when I can find out how to attach my pix, will do so...Thanks!

1. Pick when ripe

2. Depends on how much you've already given them and when. If it's been a while, then it's probably time to give them more. Better to continually add fertilizer a little at a time than lengthy periods between larger doses.

3. No. It is commonly held that picking off the mature fruit encourages new blooms but ultimately the amount of energy is determined by sunlight and nutrients to support effective conversion of solar energy. If a plant isn't putting energy into blooms and (growing new) pepper pods then it is growing stems and leaves more, which will eventually result in more nodes and blooms.

It is often repeated that if you pick the fruit this somehow causes the plant to produce a new set of blooms when it otherwise wouldn't. I don't mean to suggest this is entirely wrong but with my plants it does not seem to be the case, rather what happens is at a certain point it has forked off and created so many pepper pods that growing them all simultaneously to full size requires a lot of energy so the plant does not get much larger itself until those peppers are full sized at which point it grows and blooms faster regardless of whether the full sized fruit is left on to ripen or picked off prematurely. Getting larger is the key, it has to fork off to create a node for a new bloom(s) sites before another bloom can bud.