• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

preservation Pickling Advice

I'm a novice as regards to pickling hot peppers, although my first attempt several years ago was a disaster, resulting in food poisening. :lol:

Instead of making the pickling vinegar myself, i'm thinking of buying some "ready made"

Sarsons Ready Spiced Pickling Vinegar is easy to buy in UK supermarkets, so i'm looking at this.

I've just ordered 80 fresh orange habaneros, and i really want this to work this time.

Is this vinegar ok to use for peppers? If so, do i really need to heat it up first, or can i pour onto the peppers cold?

I'm a bit lazy :) so i'd rather not have to make the pickling vinegar myself!

Obviously i know i've got to make a whole in each pepper, but with what? and how big of a whole?

BTW, i do like a strong vinegary taste with habs, so this may be ok?

Thanks.

I use a wooden shish kabob stick or you can use a knife. The mix is fine to use but I just use vinegar and kosher salt tsps salt to 4 cups vinegar -- sterlize the jars and boil the lids -- how are you processing them in a water bath or under pressure? If in a water bath make sure the water is above the lid by an inch and full boil for 10 min. I havent used a pressure canner so I cant help you with that.

oh and Welcome to THP

A lot of us needed to pickle or can peppers after harvest recently. Use the search function (try keywords like pickling, pickled, canning...) and you'll find some threads with hints and recipes!

What LD said is good info anyway. If you are using a pressure cooker, boil the jars for 15 mins and you should be good!

Refrigerating if practical is good too. I preserve lots of peppers in vinegar without pressure cooking. I keep them in the fridge though!

I didnt do them in the fridge because I wanted to have them later in the colder months coming ... and I had so many had to put up or shut up :(

Thanks for the input guys.