• General food and cooking questions, discussion, and recipes. To blog your food or to create (or post in) a community food thread, please post in Post Your Eats!

pickling Pickling Question

I just opened some of my Biker Billy Jalapeños I pickled about 4 weeks ago. I was very pleased with the taste and they retained every bit of the heat. I am new to pickling and my only complaint is that they were a little soft. I followed a basic recipe that call for about 5 parts vinegar to 1 part water, some salt and sugar etc. I simmered the solution for about 15 minutes then poured it into the sterilized jars with the peppers. I put the lids on and processed the jars for another 10minutes in boiling water, removed and the lids all popped several minutes later. If I cut back or eliminate the extra boiling will the peppers retain some firmness? Is it safe to eliminate this step? Any advice will be appreciated.

Unless you're making very small, quickly eaten batches, you may want to invest in a pressure canner.

Here's an excerpt from "Presto's" web page:

"If you're a novice to pressure canning, this outline will give you a basic knowledge of the terminology and instruction of canning.

The key to successful canning is understanding the acidity and spoilage factor of the food you wish to can, as well as the acceptable canning methods to process those foods.

There are two types of food, categorized as low-acid (vegetables, meat, poultry, and seafood) and high-acid (fruits and tomatoes). Both can be successfully canned by pressure canning.

However, pressure canning is the only method recommended safe for canning low-acid foods according to the United States Department of Agriculture. Boiling water method is another recommended method of processing, however this method is only acceptable for some foods. Always follow the processing method stated in the recipe.