• Do you need help identifying a 🌶?
    Is your plant suffering from an unknown issue? 🤧
    Then ask in Identification and Diagnosis.

Pod Picking question

I am pretty new to the whole pepper gardening thing, and especially to actually having my plants survive a year. My chocolate hab plants have about 30-40 pods left on em that are near ripe, but not quite, prolly need 1-2 more days of decent weather, which I am unlikely to see as we are in November now and are dipping into the 30's at night. If I pick em now will they ripen indoors at all? tbh I didnt care much for the taste of em when they were a little green when I tried em but I just dont know at this point if I will hit temps need for a ripen and didnt know if they will fully ripen if picked.

Haven't done this myself as I haven't yet tried my hand at growing peppers (will do it beginning next year). But many people on here talk about picking them and placing them in a paper bag with an apple or a banana. That should help them continue to ripen. Others have also said that if they've begun to ripen that a lot of times they can just be left on the counter and will ripen on their own.

Guess i'll give it a try, its been a miserable year weather wise here and would like to finally get my pods since i've been waiting for em since I planted em in april

i would pick half of them and see for myself
sort of like not putting all of the eggs in one basket

pods that show a hint of ripe coloring are likely to color fully after a few days (whether you pick them or not)
please try to hedge your bet if you think there is a chance of frost
or freeze damage you can move the whole kit and caboodle to
a milder climate like the kitchen or living room

it is ok to cut and run sometimes

i knocked a mostly green pod off the yellow seven plant saturday night,
stepped on it sunday morning and it is nearly all ripe colored here now tuesday :eek: