• Do you need help identifying a 🌶?
    Is your plant suffering from an unknown issue? 🤧
    Then ask in Identification and Diagnosis.

Poly Grow Bags

Anybody ever use these? http://www.wormsway.com/detail.asp?sku=SBG322#

I was searching for a cheap solution for my lack of pots to plant my peppers in and came upon the poly grow bags. So I bought a few. At $.35 each it's hard to pass them up.

I potted up half a dozen peppers in them last night and I see no reason for them not to work. Anyway just looking for tips from anyone who has used them before. Thanks

I have em and it's my first time using them, but when trying to harden them when i would try to carry the pots i felt like i was squishing and compacting the soil. other than that, AWESOME.

sorry for the double post. i swear i didnt mean it :(

Well I decided to go with them and see how things turn out. I got about 20 plants out over the weekend. Some in some pots I already had and some in the little poly bags.

Here are a few pics of my weekend.

This is my potting mix. Peat, top soil, composted cow manure, worm castings and perlite. Feels pretty lightweight and it shouldn't clump up and turn hard.

IMG_5155rre.jpg

Some in pots.

IMG_5154cre.jpg

IMG_5153re.jpg

You folks that have jobs and a bunch of plants have my utmost respect. I've been at this since last Saturday and just mixed up my fourth "pool" load of potting mix. I think I'm around 40 peppers done and the stray tom, egg plant and watermelon or two. The most embarrassing thing about it is I'm retired and have all kinds of time. Yesterday was a wash though as the temps were in the low 90's and the sun was cooking fresh young pepper plants.

Things are going to be much different next year. Live and learn I guess.