• Do you need help identifying a 🌶?
    Is your plant suffering from an unknown issue? 🤧
    Then ask in Identification and Diagnosis.

seeds Question on Germinating

So I'm fairly new at growing peppers from seed and have been using the Deli Container with Paper Towel method. When exactly is it fine to move the seeds from Deli Container to pots? I have some seeds that are germinating and already have their set of leaves, the only problem is the leaves seem to be yellow and they haven't opened up yet, are they past their time or do they still need more time? Can I just move the seeds to pots once I see they have their tails without their leaves? Thanks.

You can put them into soil as soon as the root shows out of the seed. I keep mine in plastic baggies until the root is about half an inch long, I have sometimes waited until the leaves came out, but I just found it harder to put in the soil without damaging the root.

backyard pepper has it correct. I use the plastic container method as well, and I transfer the germinated seed as soon as I see the little white root tip emerge. At that stage it is easy to lift the seed on the tip of a knife and gently put it in a 1/4 inch deep hole with the root tip facing down.

I skip the paper towel and just put seeds into soil. Keep moist, not wet, not dry. Seeds will sprout in 7-14 days. I have around 90% success with this

i don't know why people try to grow peppers thinking they are growing weed. 

germinating seeds on towel papper is a thing people do for growing pot because the seeds have a tough outer shell and are harder to germinate because of the shell, or another reason for per-sprouting is for when growing in different mediums where direct sowing is difficult (grow pebbles, etc).

pepper seeds are tiny and more delicate. there is more chance of screw ups when not putting directly in soil.

the only time i will sprout a pepper seed outside of soil is when i am growing outside of soil.. hydroponically and using pebbles.