• Do you need help identifying a 🌶?
    Is your plant suffering from an unknown issue? 🤧
    Then ask in Identification and Diagnosis.

reviews of buddys anonymous box of peppers

I was lucky enough to win a box of buddy's peppers from this thread: http://www.thehotpepper.com/topic/25172-looking-for-a-home/

So I figured the least I could do was write a little review. There's a lot of different peppers in the box so I'll be updating as I go.

Background: I'm a novice pepper grower (but long time salsa lover) that has moved from jalapeno my first year growing, to serranos and habaneros my second year, to third year (this year) where I grew habs, orange fatalii(OF), peruvian purple (PP) and aji cito (AC). Next year I have plan to do my first year growing from seed which will allow even more variety. So this box will help set the groundwork for what I grow from seed.
For heat indexing purposes not hot=0 nuclear=10 my OF=9 Hab=8.5 PP=6 AC=6

Here is a picture of the peppers buddy sent me taken just after I opened it. Most peppers are in decent shape a few have a couple of soft spots, but still good shape on the whole.

buddy-peppers by SlowRolling, on Flickr

Here is my mini review in the order I've tasted them so far

#2 This was the first pepper I tasted. I took a med to thin slice(very warily since I have no idea what the spice level will be since I haven't researched it or seen anything like it) and it was very citrusy and very habanero tasting, but with virtually no heat, much less than a jalapeno, which was odd, so I sliced off another slice same citrusy note but still barely any heat. So I cut off another chunk and bam, heat hits my tounge instantly, has a hab style heat but still toned down maybe at about 75ish% of the heat of the orange habs I have in my yard, but hotter than my AC & PP. I like it will grow this one and try it out. Heat index 7.5ish