• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

Rocoto growth pattern

I am new to growing Rocoto peppers and have had a hard time getting to this stage in their growth.
( Maybe it's too hot here , maybe I'm just trying too hard)

For the first time I am seeing some really good growth , so I just want to check in with the longtime Rocoto growers.

Is the growth pattern on the Rocoto so different from the other peppers?
The new growth and new leaves develop on the leaf stem(petiole) and then branch out from there?

The big one is Rocoto Guatamala , also Rocoto Red and Rocoto Costa Rica.

IMG_0073.JPG

IMG_0079.JPG

IMG_0081.JPG

IMG_0083.JPG

I grew Rocotos for the first time last year.  Yours look pretty similar.  I found them to be very sprawling plants that loved to grow sideways rather than upwards.  Hope you have plenty of space for them to spread!  I would say yours look very healthy and happy and normal.

Rocotos need a long season and the pods take forever to ripen.  I don't know what your winters are like in South Africe - can you grow year-round, or is it summer only, like here (UK)?  Because judging by the size of your plants, I think you might run out of time to get them to pod up and ripen this summer.  

We have a relatively mild winter with light frost . My Baccatums survived winter outside under a shade net . Survived , cut back , not thrived. My game plan is to see what happens from now to end of May and the cut back, overwinter and have an early spring grow out.

Regarding the growth pattern of the Rocoto , 
is this normal to see the new growth developing on the stem of the leaf so close to the leaf itself?
This is a lot different from other species.

IMG_0081_LI.jpg

IMG_0083_LI.jpg