• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

Rocoto Pollination Methods

How do you pollinate your Rocotos?

• Finger tip

Votes: 1 12.5%
  • Q-Tip

• Paint Brush

• Other

Votes: 5 62.5%

• Total voters
This is my first year growing Rocoto's and I think I'm having a little trouble with pollination (sounds personal doesn't it?). I recently tried using a Q-tip. I don't believe that it took, but I will need a few days yet to be sure. The articles that I have come across say to use a Q-tip, your finger, or a small paint brush. I think that I'm going to use a small damp paint brush next. Am I on the right track?

Nice to see the poll option being used!
I'm lazy and if I hand pollinate at all its usually with a pepper leaf (stem side). When freshly snapped off, juices flow which hold pollen. My Rocotos are starting to look great but need major trellissing or support.

Cap said:
[COLOR=blue']Dumb question. Is it safe for me to assume that these are indoor plants? [/COLOR]

No, They are outdoors. One in the garden and one on the deck. After the blossum dies you can see the tip of the pepper as usual. But it dies and falls off the plant a few days after the blossum dies.

My first year growing Rocotos too. I find they like a little more shade than most plants, especially when flowering. How's the heat/weather in Indiana. Maybe too sunny/hot for good flowering?

POTAWIE said:
My first year growing Rocotos too. I find they like a little more shade than most plants, especially when flowering. How's the heat/weather in Indiana. Maybe too sunny/hot for good flowering?

It's been in the 70s to high 80s. They seem to be flowering ok. I get 4 or 5 flowers at one time on each plant. They are in bloom for a week and then the flower dies. About three or four days later the blossom end dies. I'll try moving one to a shaded area and see if it helps. Both plants look very healthy and are growing like crazy.