• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

Root grafting / plant fusing

I've seen that some people have really large pepper plants, which proves that peppers can grow larger than just a small pot plant in the right conditions. That got me thinking - what is it that limits a pepper's development? Is it genetically limited to a certain max size?

If not, I guess it is root development and the nutrients in the soil that limits it (and external factors such as light and temperature...). Don't get me wrong, I am very new to pepper plants and only have my first plants right now. But I'm thinking - would it be possible to grow multiple plants to a decent size (like six months of growth), then completely cut them off below the first growth node and graft them onto the base of a larger (maybe year old) pepper and thus have their roots supply the central pepper with nutrients and water etc?

If I've understood it right, this kind of graft should be possible. My question is if it's advantageous to the center plant, would it be able to utilize the additional roots and thus grow larger than it otherwise would?

So from what I have read, it is possible to do this and some people do make grafts with multiple rootstocks. So I'll absolutely try that out some time! 

Since Capsicum is part of the nightshade family it is possible to graft peppers onto potato rootstalks as well. Is there some resource somewhere where I can read more about this? Do potatos have better roots than peppers and thus make the pepper grow/produce quicker?