• If you have a question about commercial production or the hot sauce business, please post in The Food Biz.

Salting Sauces

I didn't want to hijack ShowMeDaSauce's new thread, "Getting this one started today or tomorrow," but here's a question to all you sauce experts, about the temperature at which you adjust your salt seasoning.  

I'm an above-average cook but a novice at hot-sauces. 

Achieving the same "salty taste" in food that is cold takes more salt than the same food that is warm or room temperature.  Potato salad, for example.  A cold potato salad takes way more salt to season it appropriately than a potato salad that is served warm.

Does the same rule hold true for hot sauce making?  If it does, you should take into consideration the temperature at which it will be served when seasoning it?  In other words, if it's going to be held in the refrigerator and served cold, do you taste and season while cold? Does it even matter?

It should be the same because it's cook in. When you salt a cold salad you are adding to the surface for an extra pop. Like on cold fried chicken. But sauce is liquid there is no surface. Salt the same or do your own taste testing.

For me i need about the same amount on a cold hard boiled egg vs a hot fried egg. Maybe more actually on the fried egg but not by much. More tends to stay on the surface of a hard boiled egg so the salt is a instant hit. Same goes for fries. I can use less on fries than say......mashed or baked taters even with the butter.

Certain flavors just dont pop without enough salt. Curry and chili con carne being the 2 i most notice it in. Both kinda suck to me if they dont have enough salt.