• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

powder-flake Seeds in or out for powder?

I am planning to dry peppers to make powder this year, and was just wondering if I should grind the seeds with the peppers or remove them prior to grinding? Or should I dry the peppers with the seeds in them but remove them prior to grinding? Or any combination of the above? Will the powder be hotter with the seeds in? This is my first year growing so need all the advice I can get.

Thank you.

Ark,

In my experience making powder (which has been from peppers bought not grown but still fresh) I dehydrate mine in a dehydrator and include the seeds, the seeds grind down to powder just like the skin and meat so why not??  I have always believed that when seeds are included it is always hotter so that could be used as a heat controller. (add seeds as needed to increase or decrease heat.)

Just my .02.

-Steve

it is a matter of preference.  that said I prefer removing the seeds for powder.  if you are uising a dehydrator, try drying them at the lowest temperature setting.  It will take longer but it helps retain color among other things (someone more knowledgeable on the benefits could post). if you plan to keep the seeds for growing, dry them out separately for best results. 

I plan to keep seeds from everything I am growing to give to other people, and for growing next year, and trade for other seeds also. But once I have all the seeds I need for all those things if leaving the seeds in the peppers for powder will make for hotter/tastier powder or anything then I will leave them in. Unless there are any downsides to doing that? 

Anything tabasco sized or smaller the seeds stay in, ain't nobody got time to de-seed chiletepins. Anything bigger than that though I like to split them in half & de-seed before drying them for powder.