bottles-jars Sell my salsa questions about jars

I’m trying to sell my salsa. Is there any other way to jar salsa to allow it to last longer other than canning or hotfill? Can I use a screw top lid as long as my ph is under 4.6? I’m new to this and thought I saw a local seller use just a fingertip tight lid on his jars. How to companies sell in the cold section there salsa as well in plastic containers?

Solution
Hi Jeterm, :welcome: to THP.

Here's what I can share, hope it helps. PS- I am licensed in Washington State. Not as a cottage industry product, as a full food processor.

I started out and continue to sell a refrigerated salsa. Hence the name... salsalady. Since 1994, we have branched out to other bottled sauces, but the refrigerated salsa continues to be a constant seller at the 3 local stores I sell at. We live in a very remote area, there are no supermarkets, just the local grocers. I think the Methow Valley has a full time population of about 3000.

Our salsa is made with all fresh produce (tomato, onion, green pepper) spices and stuff. It is packaged in 16oz clear tubs, like cottage cheese size tubs. It is refrigerated and...
Hi Jeterm, :welcome: to THP.

Here's what I can share, hope it helps. PS- I am licensed in Washington State. Not as a cottage industry product, as a full food processor.

I started out and continue to sell a refrigerated salsa. Hence the name... salsalady. Since 1994, we have branched out to other bottled sauces, but the refrigerated salsa continues to be a constant seller at the 3 local stores I sell at. We live in a very remote area, there are no supermarkets, just the local grocers. I think the Methow Valley has a full time population of about 3000.

Our salsa is made with all fresh produce (tomato, onion, green pepper) spices and stuff. It is packaged in 16oz clear tubs, like cottage cheese size tubs. It is refrigerated and has a 30 day shelf life.