• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

shade Shade Cloth for Mature Plants

Have seen a few video on Youtube of fairly large scale growers who have mature plants under shade cloth down in Florida.  I am in Kentucky.  Planning a shade house for next year, but only for hardening off.  I am curious to know if folk in Florida think it is necessary for mature plants.  Also curious to know if folk further north use it over mature plants and if they feel it necessary to prevent sun damage.

This is my first year using the shade cloth. It has been a tremendous success. The sun and heat is brutal down here, so mature plants would continually wilt throughout the day over the past few years. Bell peppers would barely set fruit, and forget about tomatoes during the summer. The plants always perked back up in the evening, but set and matured far less fruit than have already set this season.

I notice in central Arkansas that my peppers have trouble in July-August when it is really screaming hot.  Not sure that it might be the high humidity causing the issues though.  Last summer my wife and I drive out to visit our son in San Diego(marine corps) and we of course drove through Arizona and New Mexico to get there.  The peppers in those farms were in about 14 hours of direct, relentless sun everyday, I was amazed at the size/color and overall amazing appearance of those plants. So wondered if maybe the drier air and bottom water helped them deal with the sun.

I've never used one, so I can't say they need it.... but at the same time, I also can't say they wouldn't benefit from the use of one, because I have not compared use vs. non-use.

Around mid-July through early September the combination of sun and heat in Central and South Florida are enough to overpower even the hardiest peppers.  I ended up using 40% shade netting over about 1/2 my garden last year and it did make a difference.