• Do you need help identifying a 🌶?
    Is your plant suffering from an unknown issue? 🤧
    Then ask in Identification and Diagnosis.

Short term endorphins vs longer term mellow feeling

I`ve eaten a few hot peppers recently and have started to notice not only slightly different forms of heat, for instance, annuum sting vs chinense burn, but also a difference between heat and pain in the superhot category. So far, when I`ve had both extreme heat and pain together (Douglah x Butch T) I`ve experienced a big endorphin rush that made me very shaky and light headed. On a couple of occasions this short endorphon rush (5-10 minutes) was followed by a period of feeling very laid back and mellow, a real high in other words. 30-45 minutes for the Madballz 7, 90-120 mins for the Douglah x Butch T. 

Today I ate 2 Nagas and for me they weren't that hot, but they were quite painful. I experienced zero endorphins, as best I can tell, but I have had a good 20-25 minute high. As a biologist, I find that very interesting. 

I`ll look into pain vs heat perception and see what I can find, but I suspect it`s very complicated!

an overload of something that sends or receives dopamine somewhere along the chain? It is a drug after all,and in a class I took in college,all they kept telling us for Three years...Drugs do 3 things...Help you,hurt you,or nothing. Of course it was our job to find out all of that LOL. Just on people,not people,and plants. 

I have noticed it seems the more pain= bigger rush. Which of course makes perfect sense.

I have had a couple over the past couple days that made me feel like I might pass out. (Madballz 7, Butch T).

Which has me wondering if it even is possible to pass out from the rush?

Have you had the numb/tingly sensation yet? Ive only had it a few times and it was also during a massive endorphin rush! The pods that caused this also produced tons of saliva, runny nose, watery eyes.