Should I add a heat pad

I'm just starting out and tried 11 different peppers (6 seeds each) to test .All were soaked overnite in water(I just read I should have done Different). After 2 weeks I'm still waiting on:

Fluorescent Purple
Butch "T"
Mini Bell
Peter Pepper

What has showed their leaves is:

Carolina Reaper-2
Atomic Starfish-2
Ghost-4
ScotchBonnet-1
Tazmanian Habanero-1
Prikchi Faa-2
Pasilla Bajio-2

They are outside in a growbox. Temps have been cooler at night (low 70's) in North Florida Highs mid to upper 80's.

Should I add a heat mat at night?

Also I see a little white stuff around edges, could that be mold/fungus?

Thanks for any suggestions as I'm learning

I am not sure about the fungus, I know I have used the search box at the top to search for keywords and it has helped me a lot.. :welcome:
There seems to be some very knowledgeable people here... :rolleyes:  haha..j/k

I have gained much useful info here...Hope you enjoy your stay.

No, you don't need a heat mat if you live in FL, yes the white is mold/fungus,
You can put a little fan on em like I do to help prevent it. The only thing about that is that it causes the soil/pellets to dry out faster.

You can immediately kill the fungus with a 1:10 hydrogen peroxide to water solution sprayed on it.

Once your growing medium is initially wetted down good, which it probably was long ago in addition to a fan to keep surface moisture lower you could try bottom watering by having them in a shallow pan of water (assuming holes in the bottom of the pots they're in and soil that wicks moisture well) BUT if you have a mosquito problem there be sure to cover the water as much as you can so they don't spawn new skeeters in it.

A heat mat at night, placed so they don't get above 90F may speed up germination a little but by a little I mean only a small # of days so it doesn't really seem worth the bother.  Some just take longer than two weeks, especially if it is old seed.

Dave2000 said: