yield Small pods

Hi folks. Got a question about size (fnarr, fnarr) 😁
Since this is my first year growing habaneros from seed, I bought a "Hana Red" plant to make sure I wouldn't have to go without if things didn't go according to plan. The branches are now pretty loaded with fruit, but the ones I've harvested so far average around 1 to 1.5g instead of around the 10g stated on the label.
Spring here was a bit on the cool and wet side, which left the soil in my pots pretty much waterlogged for longer than I would have wanted. Could this have caused such a drastic reduction in fruit size?
Most of my other peppers seem fine, apart from the cayenne, which are coming in about 2 to 3 inches long.

Attachments

• IMG_20240830_182112_905.jpg
    IMG_20240830_182112_905.jpg
    114.9 KB · Views: 20
Hi, sometimes size does matter ;) There could be a few different reasons. The first fruits on a plant are often small. And with a short season like we have in northern Europe and with cold temperatures and little sun... you sometimes end up with just small fruits. When the plant is established and with better conditions the same plant will usually produce bigger pods.

That's why we start our plants really early, and also why some pinch of flowers early in the season. Because you won't get many rounds of flowers and fruits here, you'd better make them count ;)

Thanks for the reply, Anders.
Due to our short season - although I think yours is even shorter :D - I started my seeds at the end of January this year. Unfortunately, a plague of fungus gnats, immediately followed by an aphid infestation, set me way back before the seedlings had even had a chance to establish themselves. Despite this, a decent summer with plenty of days over 30°C has allowed most of my own plants to make a reasonable recovery. This is partly the reason this Habanero plant surprised me somewhat with its small pods, since when I repotted it, it got the same earth and conditions as the others.