• Do you need help identifying a 🌶?
    Is your plant suffering from an unknown issue? 🤧
    Then ask in Identification and Diagnosis.

seeds Soil temp for germination: how hot is too hot?

My first new topic post! :party:

I bought a heat pad and have a bunch of seeds getting started. I've never used one before. I read that 85 is about perfect for pepper germination, but the heat pad has raised my soil temperature to about 89F (31.6C).

I hate to get caught up what might be something minor, but should I be concerned? At what temperature would you be concerned? If my soil gets too hot, what do you suggest I do?

Ideal is 78-85, give or take a couple. Most heat pads get too hot - ideally you'll need to get a thermostat, such as this one: http://www.amazon.com/Hydrofarm-MTPRTC-Heat-Mat-Thermostat/dp/B000053F9I

I don't use a thermostat, just either put them on top of the fridge or run a small space heater in the (also small) room where I germinate seeds. I started with a heat mat but gave it away. If you continue to use the heat mat, be sure to remove the plants from it once they've all sprouted (if in a tray), or one by one if you started them in individual containers.

I dont have a heat pad and this is my first grow season but have had great success with putting them ontop of the freezer. Have had close to 100% germination doing it this way. Again, take it for what its worth as this is my first grow season.

Of the 50+ seeds I started all have germinated and about 40 are now seedlings. Have used 3 diff methods, Jiffy puck, sowing in the soil with some seran wrap on top, and in a wet napkin inside a plastic baggie. Only ones that have me concerned at this time are the ones I started in a baggie and then transplanted into seed starting potting soil. They all germinated but none have come through the soil yet. I potted them up over a week ago.