• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

Stabilizing for desired shape

One of my plants is putting out some interesting shaped Moruga. I'd like to stabilize it so that it consistently produces "tulip shaped" pods.

How many generations do you think it would take to achieve this goal?
67cbeb63d4e34e1e3c850718e65e06d2.jpg

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Hey Jeff probably 2 or 3 under isolation remember extreme pod selection is key.People often confuse stabilizing and growing out a cross ( 7 or 8 generations) two completely different ventures in my opinion.

Have been seed saving for years.  Only started intentionally crossing a couple years ago.  So I am no expert on hybrids at all.  Reading a lot, experimenting a lot, and can share observations.  But no expert.  So here we go.

What Browndd1 said is conventional wisdom for hybrids.  About 8 generations.  But I found you can speed this up a great deal by growing indoors under 24 hours of light. I put them out in the summer then back under the 24 hour light when weather gets bad.  But when indoors, the 24 hour light speeds them up and does not effect flowing like other plants.  I was very surprised.  So figure 4 years if it is a hybrid.  At about the second generation weird things tend to happen.

Here is the thing: Is it really a hybrid?  You should still grow it out for the recommended 8 generations, but sometimes what we think is new is a variant that has been in a seed strain for years.  So it might be fine generation after generation.  I have some Jigsaw that put out things that look like perfect little moruga scorpions the first year.  Been saving and growing and they always look and taste the same.  Make my tongue numb every year.  Really odd.

Unfortunately genetics are complicated. You might be lucky and keep getting seeds that grow into plants that produce pods like the parent. It might also be nearly impossible.