• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

seeds Starting seeds mid-summer for indoor containers?

Hello all.  This is my first year growing hot peppers, and my first day as a member.  I did a few searches on when to plant, off season growing, growing indoors, etc.  Didn't find an answer to my question.  So here goes... I just ordered some seeds from pepper joe and they came in yesterday.  I was wondering if it would be possible to start a few of them now, and hopefully grow them indoors over the winter.

If it makes any difference, I'm in Southwest Georgia.  Zone 8, I believe.  Far enough south that it will be 80+ degrees for at least another 2 months, and will probably stay warm outside on into November/December.  And being the cheapskate that I am... I rarely run the a/c.  We keep the thermostat on 78.  I have a few windows that get lots of sun during the day.  I also have a small makeshift greenhouse on the front porch (built out of pallet wood and clear 4mil plastic sheeting).

So what do you think?  Plant now and have some indoor pepper plants?  Plant now and grow them outside for as long as the weather allows.  Then bring them inside in the fall?  Or grow some patience and hold onto my seeds until Spring?

I never have problems keeping the plants alive outside. You're near me. Just bring them in when there are frosts, cause that will kill them. I don't think it is too late to start. Go ahead and grow outside if you want to.

I got a late start to and I'm still germinating seeds! Gonna grow outdoors and in and just before I take my grow indoors I will treat all the plants for pests

Don't know about mega... but I typically use neem oil on the plants and diatomaceous earth (DE) on the soil surface.  I have a minimal but growing interest in organic gardening, and both of these are supposedly safe non-chemical pest control alternatives.