• Everything other than hot peppers. Questions, discussion, and grow logs. Cannabis grow pics are only allowed when posted from a legal juridstiction.

Suggestions for pruning avocado tree.

Edmick

Staff Member
Extreme Member
Just bought this hass avocado tree and have a question regarding pruning this thing. I want to top this thing at the red line in the picture because above that red line is just all lateral growth and I want to encourage it to bush out more. Is this ok to do? And if so, is this the right time of year to do it? I live in southern California zone 9b. I've looked all over online and every site seems to say something different. Thanks for any suggestions you may have.

Attachments

• 20200101_150223.jpg
    20200101_150223.jpg
    156.9 KB · Views: 122
I am not an expert on Avocado's.  I live in Panama and do have an avocado tree that I planted about 7.5 years ago.  I had it in a pot for the first 18 months and I kept it in partial shade at first since the sun scalds the new tree's.  My tree did produce avocado's 2 years ago.  I have been very lucky with this tree.  I also pruned the tree after it was planted in the ground 6 years ago.  I did the same thing you want to do.  I topped it.  At about the same height.  The tree is very wide now.  As the tree grows you are going to have to prune more.  My tree is now quite large and no where near finished growing.  Probably 30 feet high and at least as wide.  If you do not prune the tree's can get very tall.

Is the tree in the foto in a pot?  I hope you didn't plant this tree right against the house.  The tree needs to be out in the yard away from the house.   They grow fast and also they get real big.

Glen_ said:

Is the tree in the foto in a pot?  I hope you didn't plant this tree right against the house.  The tree needs to be out in the yard away from the house.   They grow fast and also they get real big.