• Do you need help identifying a 🌶?
    Is your plant suffering from an unknown issue? 🤧
    Then ask in Identification and Diagnosis.

Support pole/stick or plant prop? Crutch or Not?

I’d like to hear others opinions … I read recommendations in different threads that one should insert a stick or bamboo pole next to your plant in order to tie it up. I’m assuming this is to protect it from wind, heavy rain and/or hail as a support. This morning I even saw pictures of little 3 or 4" plants tied to a identification tag ...

Now I’m no expert, that’s why I came here to THP to learn more … I’ve been growing peppers for over 17 years and have never done this. Have I ever lost a few babies, of course I have. But it’s always been my belief that if I allow a plants to grow without a crutch their stalk and roots become a stronger support system. This year we had a lot of heavy storms, even near miss hurricanes and loads of thick rain and IIRC I only lost 2 or 3 babies. All my large plants made it thru all this and IMO are stronger for it. I probably could have saved the few babies I lost if I had brought them in but I wasn't around at the time.

Now I could be wrong, but I believe my plants have a very strong lower support system because I don’t give them a crutch. Sure they bend back and forth some with the wind and rain, but my larger plants are strong as a mules :D So what is your opinion and why? And am I wrong in my beliefs/opinion?

BTW I can understand this procedure for a commercial venture as you want to lose as little as possible or its cash up in smoke, for me peppers are for my family & friends :) but that said, I've lost very little ... now losing to bugs and pests are another thing ...

2 years ago I put in a bamboo pole for each plant and ended up tying very few. This year I put in a few for select plants that were having issues. My Jimmy Nardellos on the other hand always get a bamboo pole because they get top heavy when fruiting.