• Start a personal food blog, or, start a community food thread for all.

The THP Compendium of Filipino Cuisine

As a few of you all know that I am an aspiring chef. As I am filipino and for the some of you who are interested in my native cuisine I would like to impart some things that myself and my fellow countrymen know and love, our food.

Here's my first contribution: Filipino Style Shrimp Paste

What it is:

bagoongmango.jpg

bagoong2.jpg

It is an accompaniment in filipino cuisine. One of the few things we hold dearly and something that is very filipino. It is used as an accompaniment and as an ingredient in many local dishes. As seen in the above picture, it's used as a dip for sour / unripe mangos. Great to bring out the flavor of the mango and add a different dimension. For those who love the sour taste of unripened mango.

This is very much similar to the thai version. But this is our version. The kind we have here. There are lots of versions of this accompaniment. Each region of my country has their own version.

This is the popular version that most people have at home.

We call it Bagoong, pronounced as bag-oh-ong. i know it'll sound different for most folks but whatever. =D

please bear in mind, not everyone will like this, not everyone will eat this. and as this is my first contribution to the forum, this first recipe does not make up the whole entirety of filipino food. i'm only bringing the stinkiest one but possibly the most versatile ingredient we have in our cuisine.

The Recipe:

as is in many cuisines, recipes are not inflexible. cook it to your taste, cook it to your liking, and make it your own. =D

a word of warning before I begin, please cook this outdoors or times when people are not home or asleep. lol. Why? this stinks of the highest degree.

this is mostly the generic recipe of the tastiest one:

Bagoong Ingredients:

1/4 kilo of pork trimmings / fat
some lard for flavor
vegetable oil
crushed / minced garlic
small diced red onions