Thin Wispy Foliage - Chinense types

Hi all,

I've been growing peppers for many years and haven't come across this before.

About 2+ weeks ago almost all my Chinense varieties in large plastic pots started getting thing wispy foliage, many of the leaves curling down. This year I did my own soil mix, its a combination of peat moss, compost, perlite, Espome Garden Tone, myco, and a bit of Texas Greensand and Lava sand. I don't believe the problem is the soil mix as my Anuums in 5 gallon fabric pots don't seem to be having this problem (and are relatively healthy)  whereas about 90% of the Chinense are (they are all in larger plastic pots vs the fabric pots)

The Chinense varieties were all dark green and healthy with very large leaves up until just the last couple weeks. the wispy thin foliage seems to be just at a standstill (though still very dark green!?).  I've checked for mites, thrips, and aphids, and other than a very few random aphids I don't see any problems with bugs.  The plants actually seem to be putting out a lot of flowers though they seem to be pollenless.

I'm hoping someone can help with this based on the uploaded pics. They aren't the greatest quality but am hoping for some feedback.

http://i988.photobucket.com/albums/af4/garthdavis1971/7potprimofoliage_zps93991f41.jpg

http://i988.photobucket.com/albums/af4/garthdavis1971/Anna-20140609-00357_zps42feab29.jpg

I do have a few potential theories:

1) I've been doing Aact compost tea with earthworm castings. I had some leftover tea that I used as a drench (used a 1:1 ratio of tea to water) Wondering if I gave them too much (though i've heard others say you can't overdo it, but I wonder)

2) I did spray my lawn with some broadleaf weed killer. I tried not to get anywhere near the peppers but wonder if some managed to get on these plants. Doesn't really explain the Anuums not being affected, though the Chinense leaves were/are significantly bigger on these plants.