• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

To plant single or double?

Hi all,

I need tomake decision and I think I may have to get some advise please....

So the time is drawing nearer when I am going to plant the chillies into the veggie garden (this is my first time planting in the soil).

I am considering planting them in pairs. My thinking is that this may promote better growth? That would be as opposed to planting one plant at a time...

Is there any benefit (growth wise) to planting chillies in pairs? If no, why?

Thanks

PeriPeri

There are a couple different opinions on this, but I personally am in agreement with ABG. Mostly I have read about people planting in pairs in pots, to save on space and/or the purchase price of pots. I have not read of people planting in pairs in the ground (mostly because I grow in pots.) I am wondering why you are considering planting in pairs - so that you have less holes to dig? Or did you simply hear about someone else doing it and think it was something worth looking further into?

Proponents of planting in pairs (talking pots here) believe that having leaves more closely together (thus creating a denser canopy) protects the pods more and so increases production. However, one has to consider the root system of each plant, too. Some varieties develop huge root systems, so putting multiples into a single pot may decrease production. Other varieties don't develop such extensive roots, so putting multiples into a single pot would be less problematic.

Since you're planting in the ground, the roots will not have the limits of a pot to potentially impede root growth. If the paired planting interests you, you might consider doing some pairs and some singles, and decide for yourself which approach is better for future plantings, given your growing conditions.

It also depends upon the weather circumstances in your locality as well.