• Do you need help identifying a 🌶?
    Is your plant suffering from an unknown issue? 🤧
    Then ask in Identification and Diagnosis.

To the pros - if you were to give your best advice on first time growers what would it be ?

I've learned A LOT and continue to learn something new every day....off the top of my head the biggest things for me were:

#1 - Don't over water
#2 - Patience is a virtue

Lots of other little things, but these are the two major ones that stick out to me

Edit/disclaimer - I'm no pro

I definitely consider myself an amateur after many years, but my best advice would be to follow the KISS strategy whenever possible - Keep It Simple (Stupid).

Germination example:
Option 1: label tiny cups and pre-soak all your seeds in a water/H202 solution for 12-24 hours prior to sowing into germination station
Option 2: sow seeds directly into germination station
I've done both many times, and get almost the same results with option #2 with about 1/2 the work

Growing examples:
Common advice includes topping seedlings above nodes to promote forking and bushier (therefore more podded) growth. Another is picking early flowers and green fruit so that the plant puts more resources into growing or pushing out more pods. Again, I find that mother nature works best and neither technique produces enough results to warrant the work.

I'm not saying people shouldn't try different techniques. Different things work for different folks. For me, I fall back to KISS when in doubt and think about what happens in nature.

I thought about posting a topic like your,but forgot to.Good post,there will be some good advice form to pros.Maybe,we will not have to learn the hard way.

1)Always deseed in a well vented area.
2)Wear good gloves.
3)Watch out for damp off.
4)Remember to have fun.
5)Most imported don't rub your face with your arms or hands.Hands can also bring some serious pain to us guys when using the bathroom.