• Do you need help identifying a 🌶?
    Is your plant suffering from an unknown issue? 🤧
    Then ask in Identification and Diagnosis.

Topping varieties that are naturally bushy?

Ok so I've got some Tepin, Birds Eye, Odham Indian, Thai Sun, and Cumari peppers going, and I'm wondering if I should top them? This is my first year growing these particular strains and I believe all of them are naturally bushy to some extent. So I'm wondering do I let nature take its course or do I top them? These will be in my container garden on my back porch, so space is a priority. Would love to hear some opinions

I also have Trinidad Moruga Scorpion and Carolina Reaper peppers going, and I was definitely planning on topping these. Also interested to hear if anyone thinks this is a bad idea.

Thanks!

BB

I don't think it's a bad idea, per se. The idea behind topping is to force the plant to put out more growth nodes, since peppers only form at the juncture of branches. I usually have more than enough pods so don't bother topping, plus I prefer the appearance of the plants when left as-is. The Congo Trinidads I grow are rather bushy and are heavy producers without topping, so I would never feel a need to top those. I strictly see topping as a matter of personal preference, something that depends on what your goals are.

I don't think it's a bad idea, per se. The idea behind topping is to force the plant to put out more growth nodes, since peppers only form at the juncture of branches. I usually have more than enough pods so don't bother topping, plus I prefer the appearance of the plants when left as-is. The Congo Trinidads I grow are rather bushy and are heavy producers without topping, so I would never feel a need to top those. I strictly see topping as a matter of personal preference, something that depends on what your goals are.