• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

lighting Total newbie lighting question

Greeting all.  I've read through many of the posts here, but I am still not confident in my understanding of lighting for year-round indoor pepper growth.  This is the ultimate question: is it possible to produce peppers year-round under CFL and T8?

Lights CFL: I built two hoods using a 2' x 2' sheet of steel.  Each hood has 12 23w CLF's, one is all 2700K and one is 6500K.  These things are extremely bright (I can barely look directly at them when turned on), but from what I have read CFL's lose intensity as distance increases rather quickly.

Lights T8: I have two  4' T8 shop lights with 4 tubes each, the stated lumen output for each of the 8 bulbs is 1850.

Space: 8' x 7' area in my basement with stud walls.  Inside is lined with reflectix from floor to ceiling.  There is a bench at 4' tall along one wall, so I have the CFL's hanging under the bench and the T8's hanging above the bench, effectively making for two 4' tall grow areas.

Exhaust: I installed a 70 cfm exaust fan venting into an unused oil furnace flue in the top corner of the room.  By my math this fan should replace 100% of the air in the room every 3.5 or 4 minutes

This is all experimental, and now that I have invested the time and effort on the lights I would like to continue to use them to produce peppers if possible.  I had an issue with pods dropping, and have since learned too much nitrogen can cause this to happen in peppers.