• Do you need help identifying a 🌶?
    Is your plant suffering from an unknown issue? 🤧
    Then ask in Identification and Diagnosis.

seeds Total noob on seeds

Was wondering if a diy 4X42 watt (cfl rating) deflecter was to much for seedlings? Everything I try to Google has to do with the "STICKY GREEN"! LOL! An if a 4X42 watt bulbs 6,500K would keep them living and growing for about 2 months? Until the weather warms up and I can plant them outside? Sorry for the noob question. Just haven't really read any where on here the most deff answer. But AJi has been on here a while! Hope he chimes in! :-)

Yes, almost optimal in my opinion! Watch the heat...lower them slowly. I think maybe 6-8" to start.

Oh...how many are you talking about?

Welcome. The 'sticky green' guys tend to be on the cutting edge of growing technology...you certainly could apply a lot of their stuff to growing peppers.

I mix my bulbs 2 x 6500K and 2 x 2300K

Just my 2 cents...

I just built a 6500k CFL setup today (vids uploading now), and I am starting my height at about 12" above the top of the leaves. I have found out that seedlings DO NOT LIKE TOO MUCH POWER! I started with a 600W MH and even though it was "supposed" to be the best, they all died. Then I put em under a t5 at about 8" and they started to purple and I have a few leaves that dropped. Now I raised it to about 12-14" and they seem to be doing great.

Take this advice to avoid heartache: START HIGHER THAN EVERYONE TELLS YOU TO! What is the worst that can happen if you stick that CFL at 12"? They get a bit leggy in the first week? Well then you know that it is too high. It is better to have them a mm or 2 too tall than to have them purple and drop leaves. If the leaves show purple tint, the light is too close/too powerful.