Totally new to fertilizing. How do I do it?

As the topic title says, I'm totally new to fertilizing my plants. I tried growing last year, however my plants didn't do well because I never fertilized and just left them in average potting soil. How do I go about fertilizing my plants? I currently have some bhut seedlings, Morugas, and Brazilian starfish. Soon to be scotch bonnets as well. How do I o about start these guys with some fertilizer? What are the basics?

I also do not understand soil ratios. What the hell does 2-2-1 and 5-1-1 etc. mean?? Any input it greatly appreciated. Thanks guys

people use fertilizer to give nutrients to their plants. n p k and other things are just the elements(see the periodic table of elements from science class) in the fertilizer. Different plants like different ratios so that's why there are lots of different kinds. Also there are organic and synthetic whether it came from nature or someone made it out of chemicals.
People can argue about which ratio and which fertilizer they like/need the best so good luck with that. Maybe just look for someone you know grows good stuff and see what they are using and copy them.

Usually you start plants on a diluted (like half strength what it says on the bottle / bag of ferts you got) after they are about 6" tall and have 4+ sets of leaves. Then you increase it until they are big and you give them full strength like once a month or once every couple weeks.This is if you are going to actively fertilize.

Some people don't actively fertilize every month or whatever they passively do it. They mix all their fertilizer (or organic material) into the soil and let the soil have all the nutrients already so they don't have to fertilize every so often, just during the off season.