• Do you need help identifying a 🌶?
    Is your plant suffering from an unknown issue? 🤧
    Then ask in Identification and Diagnosis.

seeds Treating "damping-off" in seedlings

Hi All,

I`m wondering whether damping off fungus can be treated in small seedlings - 1 set of true leaves. I just lost my first seedling ever to what I think is damping off. Yes, I overwatered them. They are at a constant 80°F and 75% humidity with grow lights 16 hours a day.

Anyway, is there a treatment I can use prophylactically on my other 90+ seedlings? This is my first year growing organically and on my transplants I`ve been using Mykos/molasses. The other seedlings aren`t too far from being transplanted, but are not quite ready yet.

I have something called Serenade Disease Control from AgraQuest, which is an organic fungicide containing B.subtilis. Worth trying in a situation like this?

Sorry to hear about the troubles! Try getting a fan on them. It'll help dry off the top layer of soil and it will strengthen the stems.

I lost a few to that as well for the first time this year. By the time you notice damage I'd say it's already too late, but I think I read that diluted peroxide can help.

Do a search to confirm.

There is a fan blowing 24/7. I`ll look into the peroxide treatment, thanks. I threw out the one seedling that fell over as soon as I saw it. Hopefully, I can treat the others before it spreads or to stop it spreading.

Thanks Guys.

The main thing to do is to keep the soil from staying to wet, so watch the watering. When its time to water treat it with a little hydrogen peroxide and h2O

watering from the bottom is key, and like mentioned, don't over water. it's MUCH better to under water than over water, in my experience. good luck and happy growing.