• Do you need help identifying a 🌶?
    Is your plant suffering from an unknown issue? 🤧
    Then ask in Identification and Diagnosis.

water trouble with rain barrels and drip irrigation need advice

im slowly setting up my rain barrel drip irrigation setup but i have a pressure problem. Im not getting water at the end of my drip line 1/4. The barrels are currently three cinder blocks high and the spigot of the barrel is higher than the drip line entirely. I have one barrel setup for testing, 6 more to go.

Water is coming out of the barrel with no line attached.

050.JPG

052.JPG

054.JPG

this is the drip line going down the fence, it was what appeared to be perfectly straight when i first started, its now all droopy and "un-setup" as i was trying to see where the water was getting stuck and trying to help it along the way. No luck.

I'm not a hydaulic engineer, but I'd say the swags in the run on the fence at not as much a problem as the large loops past the corner. That's where I bet you're losing pressure. If there are any rises in the pipe, even though it's all below the source, the source has to use pressure to push the water. It will siphon all day, but there is a loss of pressure.

yeah good eye @JJJessee

I undid that portion of the route of drip line when i was not getting any water at the other side of the yard. the looping was not present at first. sorry about that. the original setup down the fence was at a very slight slope. I have some emitters. still working on settting it all up at the end of the 1/4

065.JPG

068.JPG

this line in these two pics are 1/2 coming off of the larger 1/4. I think i should of came down the fence with PVC instead of drip line 1/4. Maybe I need a pump, I was really wanting to avoid that.

do you think raising the barrels up another block or so would help?