• If you have a question about commercial production or the hot sauce business, please post in The Food Biz.

fermenting Using smoked peppers to make hot sauce

I'm sure the answer is yes but as I'm new here, I thought I'd ask. Does anyone else smoke their hot peppers prior to fermenting them?

I've been doing this for about 3-4 years with pretty good success. Still trying out different peppers and smoke combinations so they keep getting better.

Maybe it's the smoke but the fermentation seems extremely slow even though I also add quite a bit of onion and garlic to give it some sugar.

After smoking the peppers and veggies, I chop into a fine mash and add 2.5 - 3% percent picking salt by weight to create brine. I then pack the mash in half gallon mason jars with air locks.

Fermentation is usually slow, but seems even more so this year. One batch is making a very few bubbles so I know something is going on but not much. The other batch is doing a little better. I guess I'll plan for a six month ferment.

Any thoughts or ideas?

Normal fermentation relies on the naturally occurring lactobacillus present in nature to multiply. By smoking the peppers, you are probably killing most of them (if not all) so it's not surprising that the ferments are slow. To counteract this, you can add a teaspoon of liquid from another ferment to repopulate the good bacteria. In fact, I've started adding a teaspoon of liquid from old ferments into all my new ones as it guarantees that the fermentation gets going quickly and the good bugs dominate. I've never had a problem with bad ferments after using this technique.