• Do you need help identifying a 🌶?
    Is your plant suffering from an unknown issue? 🤧
    Then ask in Identification and Diagnosis.

Vermicompost

Hi guys,

This morning I've decided to make some vermicompost. Since I am new to this project, it was done in a container. About 100 of worms were placed in the container with slices fruits peelings and covered with slightly soaked newspaper.

But this evening, instead of worms doing the job, I saw lots of maggots crawling around the worm foods. It is a plus for worms and maggots to do the same job?

No. Hell no and absolutelty not. :D

Worm farms are carefully controlled environments. What you have is filth.
Research some more bro.

Is the container close able? Looks like fly maggots got to your compost. Let the earth worms do its job.

I read about various problems with a single container so went with a 7 tier worm farm. I've had it up and running for almost 2 years and have had 0 problems with flies / maggots. Plus having 7 tiers gives me an opportunity to reuse previous spent soil by mixing it with some paper shreds, leaves, grass clippings.

Basically I just introduce a new tier when I have enough scraps in the kitchen and the worms feed their way up the tiers when I then remove the bottom tier and use the "black gold" the worms left behind.

worm_farm.jpg

contrairy to what everyone here seems to be saying, maggots are not a definate no-no in composting.
you can make it work, tho it IS less desireable.

maggots are probably just from flies, I would imagine their there because you put in too much live organic matter in the beginning and didn't close the container correctly.

once the worms and maggots eat up all the live organic matter and convert it to "compost" the flies should loose interest. they lay their eggs on decaying organic matter so the larva (maggots) have something to eat. if theres little to none in your bin they should find somewhere else to lay their eggs.