• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

Well ...pretty sure I just got hosed ...

Hey everyone,

Its been one of those days, let me tell ya. Ill spare you the rest of the days story and cut to the pepper related part.

My worm bins have been doing great but cant keep up with my over zealous planting. I ended up planting double what I had planned and I have an extensive indoor garden as well to tend to. So Ive been looking into doing some outdoor composting. Ive got the worm thing down but other then being well read on composting I have no actual experience with it.

Upon digging around I found an add on craigslist for compost. $40 for a full yard or $20 for a half yard. The ad said that it is a "professionally managed and maintained compost pile created over a years time from chicken manure, horse manure, wood ash, and rabbit poo."

Well smack my a## and call me sally ... right? Ill grab my trailer and take it to work with me and go pick up a whole trailer full after work! Im growing in pots after all and a trailer full would last me a better part of a year plus give me some to work with on my outdoor areas that I want to build, but havent figured out yet.

I get there and pull the trailer up, the pile was around back of this guys acreage so he goes tearing off in his tractor before I get a chance to ask to see the pile, but I assumed ( <--- you know what they say about that) after a description like that - that all will be well.