• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

favorite What are your Top 5 most favorite HOT peppers?

Please list them below, in order. I'm just trying to get a feel for which varieties of hot peppers are the most popular amongst everyone on THP. I'm still a rookie when it comes to hot peppers, and I'm not ashamed to admit it. But I do plan on becoming an experienced chile head as time goes on. Your responses will help me to decide on which varieties I will be reviewing in the coming months.

Thanks, in advance. :dance:

What's your definition of hot? Hotter than a hab? Hotter than a jalapeno? Inbetween?

If you want "inbetween" here's my favorites in order (note, I've not tried that many varieties, so I could be way off):
Red 7 Pot Brainstrain
Yellow 7 Pot Brainstrain
Bhut Jolokia
Jamie's (romy6) mystery pepper (not a super hot, but packs a ton of flavor and is on par with a Thai or Tepin in heat)
Trinidad Congo Red

Edit: Many will say the Fatalii is on their list. I have not had the pleasure of eating one yet, so wouldn't know. Thus I cannot add it to my list.

What's your definition of hot? Hotter than a hab? Hotter than a jalapeno? Inbetween?

My definition of hot is inconsequential in this discussion. I am looking for what others consider hot, and more specifically, their favorite varieties of hot peppers. There are no wrong answers here. Just personal opinions.

Really hard to say just 5:(

If you can't narrow it down to just 5, feel free to list more. The more varieties listed here, the BETTER. :cool:

they all have there place on my list depending on what i making/doing. the 2 peppers i have eaten that i did not like were the bhut carbon(way too purfumey) and orange habs.

Rooster Spur? White Bullet? 7 Barrackpore? Some of these names I have never even heard of before.

Time to do a bit of research, methinks.

Yellow 7 pot, Ghost pepper, ButchT, Habaneros, Habalokias, Jamies mystery Bhut x and Tepins