• Do you need help identifying a 🌶?
    Is your plant suffering from an unknown issue? 🤧
    Then ask in Identification and Diagnosis.

What the heck is going on?

I have no clue what the heck is going on. The Momster doesn't go anywhere near my seed collection. She wouldn't switch things around on me.
I have been extremely diligent in labelling seeds and sprouts and everything very carefully. I paid as much attention to what went where as I did when I was dispensing patient medication while I was a nurse.
Gremlins? I'm starting to think so.
The first, I don't see where a mistake could be made.
The second, it's possible.
The third, I guess.
The fourth, no f'ing way.

I don't have a picture of the first WTF moment of this season, but what I thought were my aribibi gusano seeds somehow grew into something looking more like a marconi. Thing is, I didn't save any of those seeds from last season. The peppers are sold at a local Home Depot, so I just figured I'd buy a few from there rather than go through the process of collecting seeds, storing, germinating, etc.

I don't have a pic of the "gusano" pepper, I'll take one tomorrow and update. It looks nothing like a gusano, and the one pod on it is the size and shape of a giant marconi.

The second is my Antillais Caribbean habanero.
antillaiscaribsmaybe949.jpg

Doesn't look like and Antillais Caribbean. I haven't had one before this year so I have no memory to do a taste comparison. They're tasty, though, whatever they are.

The third is my 7 Pot Jonah, which I've stolen inspiration for and named the NOT 7 Pot Jonah.
ihavenofingclue0303888.jpg

It's yellow. It doesn't look like my other Yellow 7 Pot pods. Shape and size are completely different.

OK, up till now, I can maybe chalk it up to human error, though I do not for a second believe that. I can see myself making one error, maybe even two(that's a stretch, I'm very organized), but no way can I see myself mislabelling three batches of seeds. No way at all.